WarChest Rules FAQ

page last updated 08/18/2002

The FAQ has been updated to reflect rules changes and additions in version 1.1 of the WarChest rules.
If your copy of the rules doesn't say "Version 1.1" on it, please download the latest version first!



Rules Questions

(top)


Board Size

Q: Can I play on a board that isn't 8 by 8 squares?

A: Try it. If you play on a board that's less than 8 squares deep, you may find that fast figures will be able to race across and attack opposing figures on the very first turn - which we considered undesirable. If you play on a board that's more than 8 squares deep, you may find that you have to spend several turns just moving your troops up into position.

(back)


Special Ability Questions

(top)


Mind Control

Q: When a Summoner is Mind Controlled, and then made to summon a creature, is that creatured controlled by the player who Mind Controlled the summoner?

A: Yes. However, Mind Controlling a Summoner does NOT give a player access to the other player's stockpile of summoning points, or any of their figures off of the board.

Q: If control of the summoner is released, does the player who Mind Controlled the summoner lose control of both the summoner and the creatures it summoned?

A: No. Once a creature is summoned, it belongs to the player who brought it into play.

Q: Does Mind Controlling a Mind Controller automatically release any figure the target Mind Controller currently has under control?

A: No. If Player A's Unseelie Enchantress has enslaved Player B's Undead Warrior, and then Player B's Enchantress enslaves Player A's Enchantress, Player A remains in control of the Undead Warrior UNTIL Player B takes an Action to reactivate Player A's Enchantress.

Q: What happens if I Mind Control a Mount that's carrying a rider, or a rider that's on a Mount?

A: The Mount and rider figures stay in the same square together until one of them moves out. They cannot conduct Melee or Missile combat while in the same square. If the square is targeted, the attacker chooses which of the two to figures to affect as per the normal Mount rules.

(back)


Mount

Q: Can I take a movement action with figure in the same turn in which it has been carried by a Mount?

A: No. A figure which has taken an action may not be carried by a Mount later in the same turn, nor may a figure which has been carried by a Mount perform an action later in the same turn. This was accidentally omitted from the printed rules.

Q: What happens if I Mind Control a Mount that's carrying a rider, or a rider that's on a Mount?

A: See Mind Control.

(back)


Reanimate

Q: Does Reanimate work if the figure has been turned to stone by an Underworld Medusa?

A: Sort of. The reanimating figure is replaced with BOTH a corpse counter and a Statue counter. Since the Statue counts as a figure occupying the square, it prevents the corpse from being Reanimated. If the square becomes unoccupied later on, you may then Reanimate the corpse.

(back)


Figure Questions

(top)


Gormanic Patriarch Knight

Q: How does the Patriarch's Aid work? Aid wears off at the end of the turn, so it doesn't make sense for him to grant Reanimation to a figure that's about to be captured, since the Reanimation will wear off before I can spend an action reanimating the victim...

A: If you have a Patriarch in play, mark every figure of yours that's captured with a corpse. The Patriarch's Aid can be used to grant Reanimation to a corpse on your turn. The corpse's figure can then use an action to Reanimate itself, on that same turn.

(back)


Hykolaran Squire

Q: Can I take a free Squire action before I take a knight action, as long as I take a knight action afterward?

A: No. You may only take a free Squire action immediately after taking an action with a knight.

(back)


Underworld Medusa

Q: What happens when the Medusa captures a figure that Reanimates?

A: The target is replaced with BOTH a corpse counter and a Statue counter. Since the Statue counts as a figure occupying the square, it prevents the corpse from being Reanimated. If the square becomes unoccupied later on, then you may Reanimate the corpse's figure.

(back)


Underworld Mimic

Q: How does this work?

A: You place two chests during setup, one at a time, without revealing which is the real one and which is the Mimic. Each occupies a separate square. One is marked "Mimic", the other is not. If the Mimic is attacked, reveal its true nature.

(back)


General Questions

(top)


Figure Size

Q: Are the larger figures more powerful?

A: Yes - slightly. The larger figures are more expensive, and get a point cost reduction of roughly -1 per dollar over $2.25. So, for example, a figure which sells for $4.75 costs roughly 2.5 points less to place in your squad than it would if it sold for $2.25. NOTE: this adjustment is based on Lance & Laser's prices as of 12/15/99.

We will *NEVER* artificially increase the point value of a figure just so we can charge more for it!

(back)


Surrogate Figures

Q: Can I use surrogate pieces, instead of buying the official figures?

A: Technically? No. At official WarChest tournaments, surrogate figures will not be allowed. But we can't stop you from using surrogates outside of tournaments, if your opponents don't mind. Of course, we hope that if you're playing and enjoying our game you'll want to buy the actual figures!

(back)


Painting

Q: Do I have to paint my figures?

A: Not at all. Many people assume that painting is expected or required, because it's so common among miniatures players and role-players. But look at it this way. In most board games, the pieces are simple plastic pawns or cardboard counters. Unpainted pewter sculptures are already far more attrractive than that! There *is* a practical value to making your miniatures visually distinct from those of other players, and indicating each figure's front facting a little more clearly can also be helpful. But even that is optional, and any more than that is entirely up to you.

(back)


Army BuilderTM Data Files for WarChest

You can use Army Builder from Lone Wold Development to build WarChest squads! Go to http://www.wolflair.com/static/fantasy.htm and scroll down.

(back)


CONTACT US

Email unigames@prismnet.com


This web page and all related pages are copyright (c)1999 UNIgames.
WarChest is a trademark of UNIgames. All rights reserved.